Help An old guy starting out on guitar <----That's me :)

Tabs, Lessons, Tutorials of all styles. Got a question? Heres where to ask!

Moderators: Randy Perry, The Flying Dutchman, Stiltzkin, skezza, Trigger

yllektmas

Help An old guy starting out on guitar <----That's me :)

Post by yllektmas »

First off, I would like to say how wonderful it is to find this page. This is my first post, so thank you's are in order for you all. Thank you everyone for posting and sharing.

Now, I am 41 yrs old, and have been a Randy fan since Blizzard of Ozz came out. That album is why I started playing music, though I became a drummer instead due to everyone I knew wanting to be guitarists and the only way to get into a band was by me being a drummer :)

So, now 100 years later, I am in a new band, but this time playing guitar and singing. Punk/alternative stuff, and I am self taught (no lessons ever) but I want to expand and follow my dream from when I was a child, which is to play like my Idol....Randy Rhoads. I know it's ;ate to start playing, but if I can even get 1/4 close I would be happy. Even though, I would like to get as close as possible.

Anyone have any tips? Maybe someone who actually study with Randy? What kind of material did he teach? Does anyone have notes from their lessons with Randy?

Thank you bunch ahead of time,
Yllek
Cpt Matt Sparrow
Mass Poster

Re: Help An old guy starting out on guitar <----That's me :)

Post by Cpt Matt Sparrow »

Hi Yilek

Firstly a very warm welcome to the site!

I am sure she wont me saying... but if you befirend Janet Robin on faceboo,k she is always quick at getting back with questions re learning with Randy - She is just a lovely lady and great musician. Also Robert La Fond has a great book called Memoires and Memories of an aspiring Rhoads scholar. It has all print outs of Randy'r writing an sections on scales, improvisation etc. iIt is an ace book!!!

http://rhoadsscholar.com/

Cheers

Matt