Hybrid picking

Tabs, Lessons, Tutorials of all styles. Got a question? Heres where to ask!

Moderators: Randy Perry, The Flying Dutchman, Stiltzkin, skezza, Trigger

Paul Wolfe
Mass Poster

Hybrid picking

Post by Paul Wolfe »

I've been showing my son how to play some guitar and, after seeing a Brad Paisley video, he asked about 'using your fingers to pick'. I told him it's called 'hybrid picking' and explained the idea, but since I SUCK at using my fingers to pick I can't really show him how to do it.

So, I am wondering if anyone has any good hybrid picking exercises? So far the best I've come up with is showing him to play strings 6 & 5 with a pick, strings 4 & 3 with the middle finger and strings 2 & 1 with the ring finger. Then I have him play a major scale across the neck playing the strings as outlined above.

Does that sound like a reasonable start?
Cpt Matt Sparrow
Mass Poster

Post by Cpt Matt Sparrow »

Hi Paul

Well as it goes I am new to it and exactly where your son is, with the advantage that I am used to using my fingers.
However using pick and fingers together is new to me and something I find hard, so in my perverse way thought "I must try this" :)

What you are having him do is a great idea. I have found songs like Led Zeppelin's 'Babe i'm Gonna Leave you' good to practice this because they make use of the pick on strings 5 and 4 and then the fingers have to finish off.

It is great your son is following in his dad's footsteps.

Matt
Last edited by Cpt Matt Sparrow on Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Having a break from online activity for a while to concentrate on music. Please email if you need to get in touch. Matt
Cpt Matt Sparrow
Mass Poster

ps. Guitar techniques has had loads of stuff on Hybrid picking this last several months. You can back order them too.

Matt
Having a break from online activity for a while to concentrate on music. Please email if you need to get in touch. Matt
Paul Wolfe
Mass Poster