Jazz/Fussion tips, ideas, tabs

Tabs, Lessons, Tutorials of all styles. Got a question? Heres where to ask!

Moderators: Randy Perry, The Flying Dutchman, Stiltzkin, skezza, Trigger

RhoadsFan

Jazz/Fussion tips, ideas, tabs

Post by RhoadsFan »

I was just wondering if there are any fusion or jazz guitar players on the forum who might be willing to give me some tips, ideas or guitar licks that would help me get more educated in jazz guitar playing. I have always wanted to be a fusion guitar player, but lacked the skills/knowledge > any help would be very much appreciated.
“If you guys are going to be throwing beer bottles at us, at least make sure they're full.â€Â
Cpt Matt Sparrow
Mass Poster

Post by Cpt Matt Sparrow »

Along with Rice Pudding and me (that I know we are in the same boat)

I am studying the style of Django Reinhardt at the moment and am in a Gyspy jazz band. I am hungry to learn more.

I know in the next three Guitar techniques magazines they are running a feature each month on him Django jazz guitar style.

Django's playing is very melodic, playful and he uses arpeggios loads...so very relevant to your question.

anyone else?

Matt
Having a break from online activity for a while to concentrate on music. Please email if you need to get in touch. Matt
rice_pudding
Mass Poster

Post by rice_pudding »

Jazz/fusion eh... i get the feeling this could evolve into a long thread :P

firstly, what exactly do you want to learn, fusion incorprates a lot of things? (eg. Al Di Meola is more latin, Jeff Beck funky, Satch and Vai more heavy) only then can i give you a btter answer. Unless you're willing to spend years practicing i'd steer clear of a "playing the changes" approach. Just build on top of what you already know. That is not to say dont use arpeggios, just remember you're going for fusion not strait jazz.