Article - Kevin DuBrow remembers Randy Rhoads

the Randy Rhoads archive created by Randy Perry

Moderators: Randy Perry, The Flying Dutchman, Stiltzkin, skezza, Trigger

Randy Perry

Article - Kevin DuBrow remembers Randy Rhoads

Post by Randy Perry »

Kevin DuBrow remembers Randy Rhoads
Source: Guitar: for the practicing musician, June 1984

I’ve always known that musicians were just people who happened to play music. But as a journalist, I've rarely met the person behind the player. Even if I met a guitarist informally beforehand, there was always a distinct change in our relationship when we got down to the interview. Randy Rhoads was an exception. He was always himself and never "The Musician." His joy and love for his family and his girl friend were not separate from his love of the guitar. They were one and the same. Randy never held back his thoughts and feelings, which is probably why he made such an immediate impact as a player. His joys, doubts, hopes, aspirations and his appreciation for life made him an extraordinary person to know. That he was willing to share this with the world mode him an extraordinary guitarist.

- John Stix